Fruits Basket

I don’t usually post my reaction regarding to novels, manga or either anime that I read or watch. Really not at all. But the first time I read Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya. I really enjoy it. So that’s why I’m giving a shot and I decided to post it in here. ahe.

Harem is the genre of anime which I wanted to avoid but it can’t help because my favorite genre of anime is romance, which is, when I choose romance sometimes, it involves harem. The reason why I want to avoid it because sometimes it’s not my happy ending. Like my one-true-pair doesn’t end up together. Agh. I don’t know why. I want them to be together. Something like that.

Fruits Basket is a fantasy, romance, comedy-drama and harem anime. Yeah, a harem. Sometimes when I knew that the anime is harem, I do search automatically so I won’t be disappointed. Not in story though. The pairing of the main cast. That’s what I did when I read the first volume of Fruits Basket. Really, I spoil myself. My one-true-pair didn’t end up being together at the end.

Well, the manga does have random talk which I always read when I saw that. I do enjoy reading that too. Natsuki-sensei mentioned that some people are saying that they can’t related because it’s about games. Yes, it’s about games. But hey, I don’t know why I enjoyed it.

The flow of the story is fun. Though, it involves a lot of characters but you can easily identify them. But sometimes, I found myself counting the characters ha. I admit that the last volumes, somehow, I did cry because I can feel the feeling when you’ve been parted with someone you knew for a long time.

“If you think of someone’s good qualities as the umeboshi in an onigiri, it’s as if their qualities are stuck to their back! People around the world are like onigiri. Everyone has an umeboshi with a different shape and color and flavor. But because it’s stuck on their back, they might not be able to see their umeboshi. “There’s nothing special about me. I’m just white rice.” [in her head] That’s not true. There is an umeboshi — on your back. [aloud] Maybe the reason people get jealous of each other, is because they can see so clearly the umeboshi on other people’s backs. I can see them, too. I can see them perfectly. There’s an amazing umeboshi on your back, Kyo-kun.”

This is my favorite quote of all, I think it’s in anime but I think I can consider. Because people need to see/read this. This might motivate them because while I’m reading Fruits Basket, I came to think that some words moves me. It motivates me a lot. It gives me a life lesson that I can apply through my everyday life.

Anyways, I also enjoy watching its anime. I literally laugh a loud while I’m watching episode six. My sister thinks I’m crazy that time. Sorry, sister forgive me. By the way, I hope you do too, when you did watched/read it or when you’re going to watch or read it. I hope you enjoy it like I am. 🙂

P.S Yuki Souma is my favorite. Although, sometimes he looks like a girl. I cry.

For more information about Fruits Basket you can visit:

◦  Wikipedia
◦  MyAnimeList: Manga & Anime

Love, Emi

Leave a Reply

